About EAO

The European Academy of Ophthalmology is a scientific organization founded in 2003 by August Deutman, José Cunha-Vaz, Joaquin Barraquer, Michael Blumenthal, Rosario Brancato, Gabriel Coscas, Balder Gloor, Juan Murube, Gotfried Naumann and Achim Wessing, which coordinates, advices and promotes education research and development in the science and practice of ophthalmology and related disciplines within Europe to ensure that all those who need these services receive them. The Academy enhances all disciplines concerned with the scientific study and management of the normal and abnormal structure, function and affections of the eye.
The Academy is a working scientific group and is not a Society. It is open to collaborations with all existing European Societies concerned with Ophthalmology.
The number of Ordinary Members shall in total not exceed sixty (60). The membership covers European Union countries and has been elected following due process. The members have all demonstrated the highest level of contribution to the pursuit of excellence in Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences.

EAO Board / Officers

Francesco Bandello, M.D., F.E.B.O.
University Vita Salute
Hospital San Raffaele
Department of Ophtalmology
Via Olgettina,
Phone:0039 02 26432648
Fax:0039 02 26433643

First Vice-President
Jose-Alain Sahel, M.D., F.E.B.O.
Centre Hospitalier National d Ophtalmologie des Quinze-Vingts
Service Ophtalmologie IV
28 Rue de Charenton
75 012 Paris, France
Phone:0033 140 021404
Fax:0033 140 021499

Second Vice-President
Frank Holz, M.D., F.E.B.O.
Universitäts-Augenklinik Bonn
University of Bonn - Dept. of Ophthalmology
Ernst-Abbe-Str. 2
D-53127 Bonn, Germany
Phone:0049 228 287 15647
Fax:0049 228 287 15603

Joaquim Neto Murta, M.D., Ph.D, F.E.B.O.
University of Coimbra, Head Dept. Ophthalmology,
Centro Hospitalar Universitário de Coimbra
Praceta Mota Pinto
3000-075 Coimbra, Portugal
Phone:00351 239 701 182 /00351 239 400 449
Fax:00351 239 826 665

Andrzej Grzybowski, MD, PhD, MBA,
University of Warmia and Mazury Department of Ophthalmology
ul. Szwajcarska 3, 61-285 Poznan, Poland
Phone:0048 89 524-61-01
Fax:0048 89 524-61-14

Past Presidents:
August Deutman, M.D., Netherlands


Click here to view/open the Statutes